top of page
  • rbedwell3

Fugue for Guitar BWV 1000

This fugue is standard repertoire for guitarists. The scales Bach used in it are as follows: Major, Melodic, Harmonic Major, Harmonic minor, Neapolitan minor, Hungarian minor, Harmonic Major #4, Neapolitan Major, Locrian natural 7, Persian, Neapolitan Major b5 and Harmonic Major b5 and occur in that order.

There are a number of interesting sequences, chains of modulations that lead from one key to another or back to the original key. The first from bars 28 - 31: C Major - D Melodic - D Major - A Major - A Melodic - G Major - B Neapolitan minor - E Hungarian minor - E Harmonic minor.

The second continues from bars 32 - 36: E Harmonic minor - E Hungarian minor - E Harmonic Major #4 - B Neapolitan Major - A Melodic - A Major - A Melodic - G Major - G Melodic - F Major - E Locrian natural 7 - B Persian - B Locrian natural 7 - B Neapolitan Major b5 - A Harmonic minor - C Major - E harmonic minor.

This second sequence is unusual because of the change to the Locrian natural 7, which Bach uses very rarely.

The third sequence runs from bars 49 - 54: D Harmonic minor - D Melodic - A Harmonic Major - A Harmonic Major b5 - A Persian - D Neapolitan minor - G Hungarian minor - D Harmonic Major - D Harmonic minor.

The standout modulation is the Harmonic Major b5 to Persian sequence, a very mature Bach sound.

The fugue ends with a bang from bars 93 - 96: A Harmonic minor - A Hungarian minor - A Harmonic minor - A Harmonic Major - A Harmonic minor - A Neapolitan minor - G Melodic - D Harmonic Major -D Harmonic minor - D Hungarian minor - A Harmonic Major - A Hungarian minor - E Harmonic Major.

This starts with the alternation between the Harmonic minor and various scales before modulating back a fifth to play with scales on D and ending with the Harmonic Major scale, very common for Bach.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page